Bureau of Government Organization.—The Bureau was established by Order in Council dated Feb. 12, 1963, as a branch of the Privy Council Office (and designated as a "Department" for the purposes of the Civil Service Act and the Financial Administration Act), to facilitate the implementation of the recommendations of the Royal Commission on Government Organization. Effective May 15, 1964, the control and supervision of the Bureau was transferred to the Department of Finance. The responsible Minister is the Minister of Finance.

Canadian Government Printing Bureau.—The printing functions formerly provided by the Department of Public Printing and Stationery were transferred by Order in Council (PC 1963—1254) dated Aug. 21, 1963, to the Department of Defence Production. The latter Department, on Apr. 1, 1964, authorized the organization of the Canadian Government Printing Bureau as a distinct function under that Department, to be separated from the former Publications Branch and the Purchasing Stationery and Stores Branch of the Department of Public Printing and Stationery.

The Canadian Government Printing Bureau, under the direction of a General Manager, provides a variety of printing services, such as House of Commons Debates, Votes and Proceedings, Orders of the Day and other parliamentary papers for both Houses of Parliament, and other printing requirements of government departments and agencies. The main plant is located in Hull, Que.; smaller field units are located in the Ottawa area and in other major centres to handle the duplicating requirements of individual government departments.

Canadian Government Specifications Board.—This is an interdepartmental body composed of the Deputy Heads of eight Federal Government departments and agencies. The Board's secretariat constitutes the Specifications and Standards Branch of the Canadian Government Supply Service of the Department of Defence Production. It operates through the medium of committees in which government and industry co-operate on a voluntary basis. The Board prepares specifications and standards in commodity fields and for materials, processes and equipment required by government agencies, and arranges for necessary testing and research. An Index of Specifications and Standards is available on request to the CGSB Secretary, Department of Defence Production, Ottawa.

Canadian Pension Commission.—This Commission, established in 1933 by amendments to the Pension Act (RSC 1952, c. 207), replaced the Board of Pension Commissioners, the first organization created to deal solely with war pensions for service in Canada's Armed Forces. The Commission's main function is the administration of the Pension Act under which it adjudicates upon all claims for pension in respect of disability or death arising out of service in Canada's Armed Forces; and Parts I to X inclusive of the Civilian War Pensions and Allowances Act, which provide for the payment of pensions in respect of death or disability arising out of civilian service directly related to the prosecution of World War II. It also adjudicates on claims for pension under various other measures; authorizes and pays monetary grants accompanying certain gallantry awards bestowed on members of the Armed Forces; and administers various trust funds established by private individuals for the benefit of veterans and their dependants. The Commission consists of eight to twelve Commissioners and up to five ad hoc Commissioners appointed by the Governor in Council. Its chairman has the rank of a Deputy Head of a department and the Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

Chief Electoral Office.—This Office was established in 1920 under the provisions of the Dominion Elections Act, now the Canada Elections Act (RSC 1960, c. 39, and amendments thereto), and is responsible for the conduct of all federal elections as well as the elections of members of the Northwest Territories Council and of the Yukon Territory Council. In addition, it conducts any vote taken under the Canada Temperance Act. The Chief Electoral Officer reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

Department of Citizenship and Immigration.—This Department was constituted in December 1949 (RSC 1952, c. 67) and came into existence on Jan. 18, 1950 under the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. Most departmental work is carried on through four branches. The Canadian Citizenship Branch assists governmental and non-governmental agencies engaged or interested in facilitating the adjustment and integration of newcomers and in making Canadians conscious of their privileges and responsibilities as citizens. The Canadian Citizenship Registration Branch administers the Canadian Citizenship Act and is the custodian of all records under that Act and all Naturalization Acts previously in force. The Immigration Branch administers the Immigration Act and Regulations and is responsible for the selection, examination and movement of immigrants, the exclusion or deportation of undesirables and the settlement or establishment of immigrants in Canada. The activities of the Indian Affairs Branch include management of all Indian affairs. Its organization consists of a headquarters office at Ottawa, a regional supervisory staff, and 89 local agencies in the field.

The Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.

Civil Service Commission.—The Civil Service Commission of Canada dates from the Civil Service Act of 1908. Under this Act the Commission was given the responsibility of applying, wherever possible, the principle of appointment by merit in filling permanent positions within departmental headquarters at Ottawa, termed the "inside service". The Civil Service Act of